UTAH UNDERAGE DRINKING DEFENSE LAWYER

Facing Underage Drinking charges in Utah? Time is NOT on your side.

If you are under investigation, if law enforcement wants to speak with you, or if you have been charged with a criminal offense, a competent, experienced criminal defense attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your charges. Call Weber Law to discuss your circumstances. Weber Law has helped people facing assault crimes navigate their way to case resolution and reunification with family members.

Having guidance through and an understanding of the criminal process will alleviate stress and allow you to focus your attention on improving your life.

"Mr. Weber was a really great and professional lawyer! I Couldn’t find a better person to trust my legal issues with!”

JUAN | WEBER LAW CLIENT

Underage Drinking Crimes Defense

In Utah, it is against the law to consume or be in possession of alcohol if you are younger than 21 years old. Utah has incredibly strict laws and penalties for underage drinking, however, there are instances where it is not against the law and there are ways that Weber Law can help you get the answers you are looking for and get the best outcome for your child. 

WHAT IS THE STATUTE?

Under Utah Code § 32B-4-409, it is unlawful for a minor to, purchase an alcoholic product, attempt to purchase an alcoholic product, possess an alcoholic product, consume an alcoholic product, or have measurable blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration in the minor’s body.

It can be scary when your child is facing criminal charges, it is important to have good legal representation that can explain the situation to you.

ARE THERE EXCEPTIONS? 

The exceptions to this statute include but are not limited to:

1.) If the consumption is for medicinal purposes if:

a. The minor is at least 18 years old;

b. The alcoholic product is furnished by:

i. The parent or guardian of the minor; or

ii. The minor’s health care practitioner, if the health care practitioner is authorized by law to write a prescription

2.) If the consumption is part of a religious organization’s religious services (like communion)

WHAT IS THE PENALTY?

If it is your child’s first, second, or even subsequent violation, the court may order a complete assessment or screen for your child. They can also order your child to complete an educational series. The goal is rehabilitation and education, not punishment. A screening will determine if your child needs an assessment or education series. An assessment means an in-depth clinical interview with a licensed mental therapist, the educational series means an educational series obtained at a substance abuse program that is approved by the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health.

However, if your child is over 18 years of age but younger than 21 years old, the court has the authority to suspend their driving privileges. By completing an assessment or educational series, your child might be able to have their suspension reduced. 

WHAT SHOULD I DO IF MY CHILD HAS BEEN CITED FOR UNDERAGE DRINKING?

It can be a scary thought to know your child has been in trouble with the law. Let Weber Law help you today. Being a parent or guardian is stressful and the need to keep underage people safe is strong. There are certain defenses that Weber Law can use to fight for your child. These defenses include, the underage person did not know they were consuming alcohol, they were coerced in to drinking alcohol, or even they thought they had your permission. Weber Law is experienced in handling these cases and want to work for you and your child! Do not face the court system alone, especially when your child could face unknown penalties. Let Weber Law help get your child back on track. If you or someone you know has been cited for underage drinking in the state of Utah, contact Weber Law today for a consultation.

  • Utah Code § 32-4-409, Unlawful purchase, possession, consumption by minor – measurable amounts in body
  • Utah Code § 41-6a-501, definitions

Contact Weber Law immediately if you’ve been arrested on an underage drinking charge. We offer a free confidential case evaluation. Serving Salt Lake City and the surrounding areas.

Weber Law criminal defense attorney awards

Our Underage Drinking Defense Lawyers Are Here to Help

If you have been charged with a crime, do not hesitate to ask for legal help. At Weber Law Firm, we understand you’re scared and nervous about what is coming next. You may even be angry that you have been falsely accused of a crime you didn’t commit. We are here to fight for an acquittal.

To learn more about how we can help, contact Weber Law Firm online or call us at (801) 845-0349 today.

Weber Law Firm team photo

A Salt Lake City, Utah Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help You

Weber Law will aggressively fight for your rights. Contact us today!

We believe that justice is an idea that can triumph only when living people make it so. We are dedicated to justice. We wish to run a business that is at once profitable while allowing us to promote the rights of our fellow community members. We will stand for the poor when they are in need and their cause is just. We will work for any responsible business. We will represent all races, creeds, religions, sexes, sexual orientations, and backgrounds.

Office Address:

11629 S 700 E, Suite 160 Draper, UT 84020

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top