Salt Lake City DUI Defense Attorney
Facing DUI Charges in Utah? Time is NOT on Your Side.
If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence in Utah, you don’t have a moment to lose. A DUI conviction can wreak havoc with your life. You can lose your driving privileges, which impacts your ability to hold a job. You can lose your standing in the community. You can even face jail time and stiff fines. That’s why you should call Weber Law. We have the experience to achieve the best possible outcome for you and your family, potentially having the charges reduced or dropped. We’ll be by your side every step of the way and guide you toward a favorable result.
He did everything he could to solve my case. There was no moment where I felt like I was alone. He went to his full extent to help me lower my charges. Great lawyer.”
Utah DUI Charges and Penalties
Utah is serious about driving under the influence of alcohol. While current law prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle when their blood alcohol content is .08 or more, a new law that takes effect in December 2018 lowers the legal limit to .05. In addition, you can be charged with a DUI for being under the influence of drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol.
The penalties for a DUI conviction are daunting. A first or second offense can carry a penalty of up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. It can also involve electronic home monitoring, paying an impound fee for your vehicle, drug screening, or participating in an inpatient treatment program. Penalties increase to up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines if the DUI resulted in injury, if there was a passenger under the age of 16, or if the driver improperly entered or exited a highway. A third offense within ten years that also caused bodily injury could result in a felony conviction and lead to up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Beating Utah DUI Charges
Often, fighting Utah DUI charges involves entering into a plea agreement for the lesser charge of impaired driving. A plea bargain can reduce the conviction from a DUI to impaired driving. In an impaired driving plea, the charges are reduced to a misdemeanor as long as you complete court-ordered probation requirements like screening, education, or substance abuse treatment.
However, Weber Law can also mount a defense in order to get the DUI charges dropped completely. A defense may include:
- Arguing that the arresting officer did not have cause to pull you over
- Contending that the blood alcohol test was conducted improperly, thus invalidating the result
- Maintaining that a medical condition you have mimics symptoms of impairment
- Asserting that the field sobriety test was improperly administered
Have you been charged with a crime? Contact Weber Law today.
Tom Weber Can Get Utah DUI Charges Dropped or Reduced
If you’ve been arrested on DUI charges, the time to act is NOW. You need an attorney with a successful track record by your side. Tom Weber is that attorney. He has had thousands of charges against his clients reduced or dropped. He fights for you and will be by your side every step of the way.
Call Weber Law today. We’ll deliver the aggressive defense you deserve and fight to prevent you from having a DUI conviction that could ruin your life.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Utah, call DUI attorney Tom Weber immediately at (801) 845-0956 for a free, confidential case evaluation.