Accused of Domestic Violence in Utah? Time is NOT on Your Side.
Domestic violence charges are serious. Simply being accused of domestic violence in Utah can have severe repercussions for your career, your children, and your standing in the community. There’s a lot at stake – including jail time, monetary fines, and parental custody and visitation rights – so it’s crucial that you have an experienced attorney at your side. Weber Law is standing by, ready to fight to have your domestic violence charges reduced or dropped. You deserve the best representation possible, and we’re ready to deliver.
He did everything he could to solve my case. There was no moment where I felt like I was alone. He went to his full extent to help me lower my charges. Great lawyer.”
Utah Domestic Violence Charges and Penalties
Utah’s domestic violence laws are comprehensive. When we think of domestic violence, we typically think of issues between a husband and wife. But Utah domestic violence laws apply to “cohabitants.” That includes people who are married, but also to couples who live together but who aren’t married, as well as to couples who previously lived together. Utah domestic violence law also covers family members and people who don’t live together but who have children together.
Under Utah law, the definition of “domestic violence” is also broad. It includes carrying out – or attempting or threatening to carry out – an act of physical harm, but domestic violence charges can also arise out of harassment, stalking, or violating a restraining order.
If you’re convicted of domestic violence in Utah, the penalties can be severe. A misdemeanor domestic violence conviction can result in a sentence of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. A felony conviction can mean a five-year prison term and a fine of up to $5,000. In addition, you may forfeit your right to own a firearm, be prevented from seeing the alleged victim, lose custody of your children, and lose assets and property in the event of a divorce
Beating Utah Domestic Violence Charges
Winning a domestic violence case in Utah – or getting the charges reduced and the penalties minimized – can involve one or a variety of defenses. Weber Law can employ any of these tactics in an effort to deliver the defense you deserve:
- Claiming that you were acting in self-defense
- Maintaining that the other person wasn’t injured
- Asserting that the injury was an accident
- Claiming that you were falsely accused by an angry or jealous person
- Contending that you initiated the altercation and then tried to stop it, but that the other person kept fighting
Have you been charged with a crime? Contact Weber Law today.
Tom Weber Can Get Utah Domestic Violence Charges Dropped or Reduced
If you’ve been arrested on domestic violence charges, the time to act is NOW. You need a seasoned attorney by your side. Tom Weber is that attorney. Mr. Weber has a proven track record of success in Utah courts, having had thousands of charges reduced or dropped. He fights diligently for every client and will be by your side every step of the way, navigating Utah’s complex criminal justice system on your behalf.
Call Weber Law today. We’ll deliver the aggressive defense you deserve and fight to prevent you from having a criminal conviction that could ruin your life and rob you of your freedom.
If you’ve been arrested for domestic violence in Utah, call domestic violence lawyer Tom Weber right now at (801) 845-0956 for a free, confidential case evaluation.